Review of Milan Kundera’s Unbearable Lightness of Being

Aamir Momin

If love makes you do a certain thing, or not do a certain thing, does that mean it is for good? It would obviously depend on the situation, and the outcome, right? It would also heavily depend on the perception of the person. But, if having no passion made you light and being passionate about things made you heavy, then which is better? Again, depends on how you perceive it, right?

For the last 6 months, I have been struggling with the biggest question of my life. Is my passion for what I do enough, to do it for others? Or should I do what I love, what I am passionate about, just for myself? Because doing it for others makes it heavy, but doing it for myself would make it light, it would make it rewarding. 

The Unbearable lightness of being has, in some ways, helped me understand that. Why I need lightness, and why passion is not to be given to others, but to be enjoyed ourselves. Milan Kundera’s novel causes a whirlwind of thoughts and emotions. And I can only express a little of how much I like and dislike this book. It covers a range of topics, and explores philosophy, passion, life and how meaningless or meaningful it is, what makes you move or stay, sex, infidelity, love, communism, war, peace and heaviness.

It revolves around 3 main characters, Tomas, a doctor, Tereza, a somewhat photographer and Sabina, an artist. All three characters, as different from each other, remind you that all of us are looking for love in different ways. Maybe in trust, in sex, in partnership, in care, or anything else. I adore the fact of how simple these characters are, despite seeming so complicated.

When the novel begins, you can barely grasp where the story is going to take you, and it can often surprise you with what comes next. It could either be a person finding it difficult to come to terms with their personality, or it could be about war, infidelity or anything. It doesn’t keep you guessing, but on your toes at all times. I would be lying if I said that this book is exceptional, but I would also not be doing justice if I said that it does not compel you to think.

So in a few words, at all times, just like I did, there is a high possibility that you would hate and love this book at the same time. But no matter what, the book will tickle your brain, make you feel things, think things, and write things as well.

As for me, I have realised that my passion is for me, and doing it for other stakeholders is not doing it justice. So I have been on a journey to change that, to keep writing ‘my art,’ rather than my career.

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started